logo barbier-mueller
History

The story behind a collection

Josef Mueller was born in 1887 into a middle-class family from Solothurn, in German-speaking Switzerland. Nothing predestined his becoming one of the greatest art collectors of all time fig. 1. At the age of ten, he lost both his father and his mother, and was raised by a governess. However, he had the chance to frequently visit the home of one of his schoolmates, whose parents were lovers of modern art and who, as early as 1906, owned a beautiful painting from Picasso’s pink period: the portrait of a woman, seen in profile, which Mueller was later to acquire fig. 2.

At 20 years of age, he spent a whole year’s income on one painting, and swiftly made his way to Paris where he met the famous art dealer, Ambroise Vollard. Acting on the advice of the latter, he acquired a highly renowned painting by Cézanne, the portrait of the Jardinier Vallier, painted in 1905, at the very end of the future father of modern painting’s life.

By privation and through overcoming manifold difficulties, Josef Mueller put together a collection with extraordinary rapidity that, as early as 1918, included seven works by Cézanne fig. 3, five by Matisse, and five by Renoir, without counting the Picassos, the Braques and as many other paintings by prestigious masters.

The thirst for novelty and the desire (formulated by Rimbaud) to be "absolutely modern" drove artists to explore the unknown. In the wake of the Impressionists’ revolutionary innovations, the Fauvists (Vlaminck fig. 4, Derain fig. 5, Matisse) were the first to realise that African fetishes, whose seeming crudeness had previously been cause for derision, could find a place among works of art that spring from man’s natural creative impulse and his endless quest for formal perfection.

In the 1920s, a handful of enthusiastic artists and collectors were delighted to discover both the ingenuity and the honesty of the designs of tribal artists who, oblivious to the notion of art for art’s sake, produced works not of personal expression, nor to please a public of connoisseurs, but as an essential part of their magical and religious beliefs, which sought to maintain a balance between the contradictory forces that operate in the world.

In 1935, the New York Museum of Modern Art organised a large exhibition entitled African Negro Art. All the works on display were owned by Europeans, among them the poet Tristan Tzara, who possessed a magnificent Gabonese mask which the Barbier-Mueller Museum was to acquire several years later fig. 6. Josef Mueller did not contribute anything to this exhibition; in fact, he rarely participated in public events. He would most certainly have refused to hold a conference or to explain the reasons behind the accumulation of so many treasures. However, in 1957, at the age of seventy, Mueller decided to exhibit his African collection fig. 7 in the museum of his native town, Solothurn, where he had returned to live after the war. Jean Paul Barbier, husband to his daughter, Monique, historian and art lover, understood Josef Mueller’s irritation that the works of so-called "primitive" art remained defiantly underestimated while his other paintings received copious praise. Perhaps it was at this moment that the idea of a permanent museum of primitive art was conceived; an idea that would come into effect twenty years later, in Geneva, where Monique and Jean Paul Barbier-Mueller were to settle.

Jean Paul Barbier had built up a collection of his own, and this was added to that of Mueller. He dedicated himself to seeking key works that would provide additional coherence to the overall collection. Indeed, Josef Mueller had not sought to create a synchronous whole, and bought objects simply according to aesthetic criteria. His son-in-law later succeeded in presenting a rationalised collection, which in turn became a "chef d’œuvre" of world renown.

The Barbier-Mueller Museum opened its doors in May, 1977, three months after the passing of Josef Mueller. Many friends of the family, art lovers and connoisseurs from all over the world took part in this event. They soon joined together to form the Friends of the Barbier-Mueller Museum Association, which today consists of nearly one thousand members fig. 8.

The collection today assembles 7000 works of art, sculptures, masks, textiles, and objects of prestige or corporal adornment. This unique store, constantly enriched by Jean Paul Barbier, constitutes the greatest collection of primitive art in the world. The principal sectors are, in order of importance, Africa, the East Indies ("primitive" Indonesia), Oceania, the Americas (pre- and post-Colombian), tribal Asia, and, in a more general manner, the prehistoric or archaic phases of great civilisations (Greece, Italy, Japan, the East Indies).

logo barbier-mueller
Historique

Histoire d’une collection

Les années 20

Josef Mueller est né en 1887 et appartenait à une famille bourgeoise de Soleure (Solothurn), en Suisse alémanique. Rien ne le prédestinait à devenir l’un des plus grands collectionneurs d’art de tous les temps fig. 1. Orphelin de père et de mère à l’âge de six ans, il fut élevé par une gouvernante mais il eut la chance de pouvoir rendre de fréquentes visites aux parents d’un camarade de classe, amateurs de peinture moderne, et qui, en 1906, possédaient déjà un très beau tableau de la période rose de Picasso, un portrait de femme de profil que Mueller devait acquérir par la suite fig. 2.

A 20 ans, il consacra son revenu d’une année entière à acheter une toile de Ferdinand Hodler, et très vite, il se rendit à Paris où il rencontra le célèbre marchand Ambroise Vollard. Sur les conseils de celui-ci, il acquit un tableau important et fameux de Cézanne, le portrait du Jardinier Vallier, peint en 1905, à l’extrême fin de vie du futur père de la peinture moderne.

C’est en surmontant mille difficultés que Josef Mueller constitua de manière rapide un ensemble qui comprenait déjà en 1918 sept Cézanne fig. 3, cinq Matisse, cinq Renoir, sans compter les Picasso, les Braque et autant de toiles d’autres maîtres prestigieux.

La soif de nouveauté, le désir (formulé par Rimbaud) d’être "absolument modernes" avait conduit les artistes à explorer l’inconnu. Après les innovations révolutionnaires des Impressionnistes, ce furent les Fauves (Derain fig. 5, Vlaminck fig. 4, Matisse) qui comprirent les premiers que les "fétiches" africains, dont l’apparente grossièreté était jusqu’alors tournée en dérision, trouvaient leur place parmi les œuvres d’art les plus célèbres faites de la main de l’homme, toujours en quête de perfection formelle.

Dans les années 20, d’autres artistes, d’autres collectionneurs, découvraient avec bonheur l’ingénuité, l’honnêteté de la démarche des artistes tribaux, qui, ignorant "l’art pour l’art", ne produisent leurs œuvres ni pour s’exprimer personnellement, ni pour plaire à un public de connaisseurs, mais parce qu’elles s’avèrent nécessaires dans le cadre de croyances magico-religieuses où domine le souci de maintenir en équilibre les forces contradictoires qui s’affrontent autour des communautés humaines.

En 1952, Jean Paul Barbier se fiançait avec la fille de Josef Mueller, Monique. Leur mariage eut lieu en 1955. Lui aussi devait se mettre à constituer activement sa propre collection.

1957

Mais revenons en 1935 où le Museum of Modern Art de New York organisa une grande exposition intitulée African Negro Art. Les œuvres appartenaient toutes à des Européens, dont le poète Tristan Tzara, possesseur d’un magnifique masque gabonais que le Musée Barbier-Mueller devait acquérir en 1988 fig. 6. Josef Mueller ne prêta rien pour cette exposition. Il était rare qu’il se mêlât à une manifestation publique. Il se serait certainement refusé à donner une conférence ou à expliquer les raisons qui le poussaient à accumuler tant de trésors. Cependant, en 1957, à l’âge de soixante-dix ans, Josef Mueller décida d’exposer sa collection africaine fig. 7 dans le musée de sa ville natale de Soleure, où il était revenu s’établir après la guerre. Jean Paul Barbier, lui-même historien et amateur d’art, comprit que Josef Mueller était agacé que les œuvres d’art appelées "primitives" soient si peu estimées, par rapport aux tableaux dont on lui faisait tant de compliments. Probablement est-ce ce jour-là qu’est née l’idée d’un véritable musée permanent d’art primitif, qui devait voir le jour vingt ans plus tard, à Genève, où s’étaient fixés Monique et Jean Paul Barbier-Mueller.

Ce dernier avait constitué de son côté une collection qui allait s’ajouter au fonds Mueller. Il s’était mis à la recherche de pièces importantes pour donner à la collection davantage de cohérence. Josef Mueller, en effet, ne cherchait pas à créer un véritable ensemble, achetant les objets sur de simples critères esthétiques. C’est son beau-fils qui réussira à proposer une collection raisonnée, devenue à son tour un "chef-d’œuvre" reconnu comme tel dans le monde entier.

1977

Le musée Barbier-Mueller ouvrit ses portes en mai 1977, trois mois après le décès de Josef Mueller. Ce fut un événement auquel s’associèrent de très nombreux amis de la famille, amateurs d’art et connaisseurs venus du monde entier. Ils se regroupèrent bientôt pour former une Association des amis du musée, laquelle compte aujourd’hui près d’un millier de membres fig. 8.

Les collections rassemblent maintenant environ 7000 œuvres, sculptures, masques, textiles, objets de prestige ou ornement corporel. Cet ensemble unique, sans cesse enrichi par Jean Paul Barbier-Mueller, constitue la plus importante collection d’art primitif au monde. Les secteurs principaux sont par ordre d’importance l’Afrique, l’Océanie, les Amériques (pré et post-colombiennes), l’Asie tribale, l’Insulinde et, d’une manière générale, les phases archaïques ou préhistoriques des grandes civilisations (Grèce, Italie, Japon, Asie du Sud-Est).